Economic Development Department

History

In 1993, the Office of Economic Development was created to promote and facilitate business development, to create and implement economic development strategy, and to strengthen ties with the private sector.

Through its many achievements and a strong reputation for reliability, on July 1, 2006, the Office of Economic Development gained department status becoming the Economic Development Department.

Contact Information

Quick Contacts

Media inquiries:
Sara Mannal, smannal@cabq.gov

To request a meeting with the department director:
Yesenia Hernandez, Executive (505) 768-3051 or yeseniahernandez@cabq.gov

City incentives and Small Business Regulatory Advisory Commission (SBRAC):
Chris Chavez, (505) 768-3292 or chrisjchavez@cabq.gov
Monica Mitchell (SBRAC), (505) 768-3226 or mmitchell@cabq.gov

Lodgers’ Tax Advisory Board:
Justin Hilliard, jhilliard@cabq.gov

Full Staff Contact Information

Max Gruner, Director
(505) 768-3270

Yesenia Hernandez, Executive Assistant to Director Gruner
(505) 768-3051 or yeseniahernandez@cabq.gov

Monica Mitchell, Deputy Director
(505) 768-3226 or mmitchell@cabq.gov

Christopher Chavez, Economic Development Manager
(505) 768-3292 or chrisjchavez@cabq.gov

Daniel Schmuck, Senior Economic Developer
(505) 328-5342 or dschmuck@cabq.gov

Justin Hilliard, Workforce Liaison
(505) 270-1085 or jhilliard@cabq.gov

Janel Shisler, Fiscal Officer
(505) 768-3278 or jshisler@cabq.gov

Sonja Romero, Economic Development Coordinator
(505) 768-3268 or sonjaromero@cabq.gov

Sara Mannal, Community Outreach Manager
(505) 768-3730 or smannal@cabq.gov

Henry Hoffman, Sr. Admin Assistant
(505) 868-1877 or hhoffman@cabq.gov

 

Film Office

Cyndy McCrossen, Film Liaison
(505) 768-3269 or cmccrossen@cabq.gov

Rebecca Cavalier, Film Coordinator
(505) 768-3289 or rcavalier@cabq.gov

Gabriela Garcia, Film Support Specialist 
(505) 768-3283 or ggarcia-huff@cabq.gov

 

International Trade Office

Randy Trask, International Trade Office Manager
(505) 768-3286 or randy@nmtradealliance.org

Celeste Nuñez, Program Manager
(505)-768-3266 or celeste@nmtradealliance.org

Economic Development Team

MAX GRUNER

MAX GRUNER

Director

MONICA MITCHELL

MONICA MITCHELL

Acting Director/Deputy Director

CHRISTOPHER CHAVEZ

CHRISTOPHER CHAVEZ

Economic Development Manager

DANIEL SCHMUCK

DANIEL SCHMUCK

Senior Economic Developer

phone (505) 328-5342
email dschmuck@cabq.gov

JUSTIN HILLIARD

JUSTIN HILLIARD

Workforce Liaison

JANEL SHISLER

JANEL SHISLER

Fiscal Officer

SONJA ROMERO

SONJA ROMERO

Economic Development Coordinator

SBO LIAISON

SBO LIAISON

Small Business Office Liaison

SARA MANNAL

SARA MANNAL

Community Outreach Manager

phone (505) 768-3730
email smannal@cabq.gov

YESENIA HERNANDEZ

YESENIA HERNANDEZ

Executive Assistant

HENRY HOFFMAN

HENRY HOFFMAN

Sr. Admin Assistant

Film Office Team

CYNDY MCCROSSEN

CYNDY MCCROSSEN

Film Liaison

REBECCA CAVALIER

REBECCA CAVALIER

Film Coordinator

GABRIELA GARCIA

GABRIELA GARCIA

Film Support Specialist

phone (505) 768-3283
email ggarciahuff@cabq.gov

Minority Business Development Agency (MBDA) Business Center Team

GABRIELA MARQUES

GABRIELA MARQUES

MBDA Center Director

MIKE SILVA

MIKE SILVA

MBDA Business Advisor

SOFIA BAJANA

SOFIA BAJANA

Project Manager of Coronavirus Response and Relief MBDA Grant

office (505) 397-0674
email sbajana@nmmbda.com

International Trade Office Team

RANDY TRASK

RANDY TRASK

Manager

CELESTE NUÑEZ

CELESTE NUÑEZ

Program Manager